Parks and Rec practitioner loves ABCD

Marisa Warnock
Marisa Warnock
@marisa-warnock
7 years ago
1 posts

Hello All!

I am a Community Recreation graduate student in California and am passionate about Parks&Rec making a difference in communities. I've studied ABCD extensively because my program allows us to find topics within our degree that interests us. I do not have hands-on training and have not actually implemented ABCD and feel intimidated. I would love to host a community meeting and build an asset map but feel terrified that I won't be able to pull it off with a group. What do you suggest is a good first step? Should I attend a workshop or...? Do also have suggestions for smaller steps?

Also, I would especially love to connect with anyone in Community Recreation field. Thanks for your time!

John Hamerlinck
John Hamerlinck
@john-hamerlinck
7 years ago
50 posts

Hi Marisa. The question of scale is important. There might be a different approach if there is an identified challenge you are trying to address, than there would be if you are simply trying to do some basic relationship building. Either way, small steps are probably a good idea. Find some people with some already identified common interest. Do some basic appreciative inquiry. Ask people what they care about, what concerns them, what they like doing. See if anything surprising emerges from that set of conversations. Then do actual asset mapping when you have a goal or an action in mind.

user image

@dee-brooks
7 years ago
0 posts

Hi Marisa,

Your conversation has also been added to the ABCD in Action Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/groups/429625007423984/

Great topic! I'm part of a team who is about to undertake some foundational, culture change work in a large government department in Australia - parks and rec will certainly be part of it eventually!