Learning ABCD: Conference or Videos/Workbooks?

Ariah Fine
Ariah Fine
@ariah-fine
11 years ago
1 posts

Hi, I'm new to ABCD, though I've been doing this sort of work in my neighborhood organizing already. I'm wondering about learning more and whether I should really make it out to a Conference/workshop to really learn ABCD or if getting the Videos and Workbooks on the website will do the trick?

Here's an upcoming conference I was thinking of attending that was on the ABCDinstitute website:https://abcd2013wjscanada.eventbrite.ca/?ref=ecal

(On that note, anyone know been to a workshop with the facilitator Dan Duncan? Is he good?http://www.hdanielsduncanconsulting.org)

Otherwise I'd just purchase the resources listed here, they just seem to be fairly old:

http://www.abcdinstitute.org/resources/

Thanks for your input!

updated by @ariah-fine: 10/24/16 04:47:22PM
Oscar Duran
Oscar Duran
@oscar-duran
11 years ago
1 posts

Hey Ariah,

I have most the old texts and watched all the videos available on the ABDC site. I absolutely agree, they are old, but I have found to still be superbly relevant. My opinion, that is step one, when you wanna dig deeper and more current, I learn the most from watching videos and reading articles, especially those on John's site,http://www.abundantcommunity.com/

Conferences are cool, I go to a least one conference every year, but mostly for networking. I also visit other cities and try to meet fellow neighborhood organizers and community development folks. I love visiting other cities and neighborhoods.

Hope this helped.

Paz Y Bien,

Oscar Duran

Magdalena Valderrama Hurwitz
Magdalena Valderrama Hurwitz
@magdalena-valderrama-hurwitz
11 years ago
29 posts

Start with the workbook. The material may be old but it's gold. Also, check out the resource page on this forum. I've posted a few items myself.