Michelle Dunscombe

State or Province:


country:

Australia

what are your gifts and talents?:


why do you want to join abcd in action?:


 

2 day Introduction to Asset Based Community Development (ABCD)

2 day Introduction to Asset Based Community Development (ABCD)

Monday August 22 2022, 9:30 AM AEST
@ Zoom

Jeder Institute is excited to be offering an Introduction to Asset Based Community Development workshop. This workshop will be focusing on how to utilise ABCD skills while working with our communities.

“Every single person has skills, abilities and gifts”. John McKnight

This workshop is interactive and participatory, where you get to use the tools and resources which you are learning about. These tools and resources can be used directly with the communities who you work with.

The workshop is hosted over 2 days - 9.30am to 4.30pm (Melbourne/Sydney/Hobart) 9.00am to 4.00pm (Adelaide) 6.30am to 1.30pm (Perth) 11.30am to 6.30pm (New Zealand)

Connecting people to community and seeing them as a part of a community is vital for people to have a voice and to create a sense of belonging. ABCD is a powerful approach to community engagement and development that focuses on abilities and potential, rather than problems and deficits by discovering the resources that are already present in a community.

By building relationships and creating the space for opportunities to emerge, community members become powerful and are more in control of their own decision making. The key principles will demonstrate how ABCD ensures an inclusive community process and participants will leave the workshop with practical tools to assist communities to help themselves and others discover and mobilise community strengths.

Drawing on the experience of both the participants and the facilitator, participants will leave our workshops with practical tools, skills and ideas on how to:

  • Discover what's strong not what's wrong
  • Place community at the centre of local decision making
  • Activate individual and community participation
  • Build on community leadership
  • Strengthen local connection & relationships

This training is endorsed by ABCD Asia Pacific

“Please contact us if cost is a barrier to your participation”

Your Facilitators:

Fiona Miller is a creative conduit and passionate about seeing people and communities explore and collaborate on all things local, getting people to the same table and sharing skills and knowledge. The ABCD principles and practices underpin all of her work and continue to be educated while educating. Conversations matter and by connecting conversations, amazing things can happen.

Steph Bitter is an enthusiastic young woman, passionate about human rights and empowering individuals to express themselves. She is an advocate for social justice issues and enjoys helping people learn more about themselves, discovering what options they might have for a better future.

Register online HERE

Tags