When partners want to help what should I do?

John Alvarado
John Alvarado
@john-alvarado
10 years ago
1 posts

I've been doing community development for close to four years and have had the privilege of building great relationships with amazing leaders. My current challenge is the growing political interests in partnering with these groups, orshould I say in "helping" these groups. It seems like on a monthly basis, I am getting phone calls from city officials, faith leaders, NPO's, local politicians all of which are interestedinconnecting with these communities.

Some questions and feelings that I have are:

Q: If I use my relationships to make these connections without a proper understanding from these outside resources concerning the ABCD strategies what potentially might go wrong?

F: I feel that these partners would be most helpful in employing their resources to hirer even more community organizers thereby building the strength of the larger community.

Q: who out there has faced a similar situation and has some valuable insight for me?

I could really use some feedback -please respond :-)

updated by @john-alvarado: 10/24/16 04:45:35PM
user image

@dee-brooks
10 years ago
0 posts

Hi John,

Have you considered getting them all together in a Community Forum, or something similar, and asking them the questions? I have done this quite often in Australia usingArt of Hosting processes and applying Appreciative Inquiry style questioning to ABCD!

Sometimes, it's good to forge bravely through the chaos to find order...

Regards,

Dee...

Ron Dwyer-Voss
Ron Dwyer-Voss
@ron-dwyer-voss
10 years ago
48 posts

Hey John!