Infrastructure/technology for basic necesities

Lauren M Butler
Lauren M Butler
@deb-wisniewski
11 years ago
4 posts

Hi there! I've enjoyed reading some of the discussions on using information technology and social networks in community development, and I'd love to hear about any thoughts/ideas on a different area of technology: infrastructure and and the ever-so-common phrase "appropriate technologies" for increasing access to basic necessities. I studied ABCD with Jody and John, graduated in Mechanical Engineering, and now manage water supply and basic sanitation projects in Bolivia. Every day I try to incorporate the asset-based approaches I learned to doing international engineering projects, and would love to improve by learning from the work and thoughts of others!

Anyone know of organizations, people, literature that applies Asset-Based approaches to Engineering Development (ABED if I may)? There are certainly specific challenges of using ABCD for technology and infrastructure projects, but also specific opportunities. Some opportunities:

-I've found that doing an asset-based assessment in the front end of the project really helps, because when engineers come into a community asking about project needs the community's expectations shoot through the roof!

-Also, the effect of an asset-based approach on a program/project's sustainability canespeciallybe seen in engineering projects, because the use/non-use of local resources determines how long a physical structure will be in place and operating.

Some specific challenges:

-The best technical option is usually not the best ABCD option (though theoretically, the best engineering option should take into account the whole context)